Special Track on Database Theory, Technology, and Applications

Nicosia, Cyprus, March 14-17, 2004

SAC 2004

For the past eighteen years, the ACM Symposium on Applied Computing (SAC) has been a primary and international forum for applied computer scientists, computer engineers, software engineers, and application developers to gather, interact and present their work. The ACM Special Interest Group on Applied Computing (SIGAPP) is the sole sponsor of SAC. SIGAPP mission is to further the interests of the computing professionals engaged in the development of new computing applications and applications areas and the transfer of computing technology to new problem domains. The conference proceedings are published by ACM and are also available online through ACM's Digital Library. SAC 2004 is sponsored by the ACM Special Interest Group on Applied Computing, is presented in cooperation with other ACM Special Interest Group, and is hosted by the University of Cyprus in Nicosia, Cyprus, March 14-17, 2004. For additional information, please visit the above official ACM SAC 2004 web site.

Special Track on Database Theory, Technology, and Applications (DTTA)

A special track on Database Theory, Technology, and Applications will be held in SAC 2004. The DTTA track will be a forum for database scholars, research scientists, engineers, and practitioners throughout the world to share their theoretical results, technical ideas, and exploratory experiences relating to implementation and applications. You are cordially invited to submit technical papers to the DTTA track of SAC 2004, and major topics of interest for the track include, but not limited to the following:

  • Active, Deductive, and Logic Databases
  • Multimedia (Audio, Video, Image, Music) Database Systems
  • Cooperative Database Systems and Workflow Management
  • Digital Libraries and Text Databases
  • Disk Arrays and Tertiary Storage Systems for Very Large Databases
  • Distributed/Parallel Data and Query Processing
  • Hypertext/Hypermedia Database and Information Systems
  • Internet and Web-Based Database Systems
  • Knowledge Discovery and Data Mining in Databases
  • Mobile Data Management and Mobile Database Systems
  • Multi-Database Systems/Federated Database Systems/Trusted Database Systems
  • Multidimensional Data Models and OLAP
  • Object-Oriented and Object-Relational Database Systems
  • Probabilistic and Fuzzy Databases
  • Real-Time and High Performance Database Systems
  • Bioinformatics Data Management and Data Mining
  • Semantic Modeling and Management of Web-Based Databases
  • Semantic Web and Ontology
  • Semi-Structural Data Management, Meta Data, and XML
  • Spatial and Temporal Databases
  • Statistical and Scientific Databases

Track Chairs and Contact Information:

Dr. Ramzi A. Haraty
Lebanese American University
P.O. Box 13-5053
Chouran Beirut: 1102 2801

Phone: +961-3-782010
Fax:     +961-1-867098

Dr. Yannis Manolopoulos
Department of Informatics
Aristotle University
Thessaloniki, 54124

Phone: +30-(2310) 996363
Fax:     +30-(2310) 998419

Dr. Junping Sun
Graduate School of Computer
and Information Sciences
Nova Southeastern University
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33314, USA

Phone: +1-(954) 262-2082
Fax: +1-(954) 262-3915

Guidelines for Paper Submission

Original papers from the above-mentioned or other related areas will be considered. This includes three categories of submissions: 1) original and unpublished research; 2) reports of innovative computing applications in the arts, sciences, engineering, business, government, education and industry; and 3) reports of successful technology transfer to new problem domains. Each submitted paper will be fully refereed and undergo a blind review process by at least three referees for quality, correctness, originality, and relevance. Notification and reviews will be communicated via email. All papers must be submitted electronically in the format of Adobe PDF and Postscript (preferably) or MS Word. Please, upload your papers electronically to the website:

Author(s) name(s) and address(es) must NOT appear in the paper body. Any self-reference should be in the third person. Each paper must not exceed 4,000 words (approx. 15-20 pages, double-spaced). The program committee may reject papers that exceed this length on the grounds of length alone. In addition, for each submitted paper, a separated cover page (preferably in MS Word or plain ASCII) should be sent to the email address:

including the paper title, abstract, list of key words, and list of authors with full names and postal addresses, telephone numbers, fax numbers, and email addresses. One of the authors must be designated as the primary contact point to receive the notification at the time of the paper submission. At least one of the authors of the accepted paper must register for the conference and present the paper. The accepted papers will be published in the ACM SAC 2004 proceedings. A set of selected papers, which did not get accepted as full papers, will be accepted as poster papers and will be published as extended 2-page abstracts in the symposium proceedings.

Program Committee

Zaher Aghbari, Kyushu University, Japan
Reda Alhajj, American University of Sharjah, UAE
Ken Barker, University of Calgary, Canada
Manuel Barrena, University of Extremadura, Spain
Nieves Briasaboa, University A Coruña, Spain
Richard Chbeir, LISI - INSA de Lyon, France
Peter Chen, Louisiana State University, USA
Zhengxin Chen, University of Nebraska at Omaha, USA
Antonio Corral, University of Almeria, Spain
Qin Ding, Pennsylvania State University - Harrisburg, USA
Farshad Fotouhi, Wayne State University, USA
William I. Grosky, University of Mich., Dearborn, USA
Ali Haidar, Beirut Arab University, Lebanon
Gongzhu Hu, Central Michigan University, USA
Prithwish Kangsabanik, Technical Architecture, UBS AG, Switzerland
Nikos Lorentzos, Agricultural University of Athens, Greece
Stefan Manegold, CWI Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Nashat Mansour, Lebanese American University, Lebanon
Tadeusz Morzy, Technical University of Poznan, Poland
Enrico Nardelli, University of L'Aquila, Italy
Pavol Navrat, Technical University of Bratislava, Slovakia
Boris Novikov, University of St. Petersburg, Russia
Brajendra Panda, University of Arkansas, USA
Dimitris Papadias, Hong-Kong University of Science and Technology
Apostolos Papadopoulos, Aristotle University Thessaloniki, Greece
William Perrizo, North Dakota State University, USA
Jacek Plodzien, Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland
Jaroslav Pokorny, Charles University of Prague, Czech Republic
Prahalad Ragothaman, University of Arkansas, USA
Philippe Rigaux, LRI, Paris France
Sung Shin, South Dakota State University, USA
Toby Teorey, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, USA
Yannis Theodoridis, University of Piraeus, Greece
Mario Tinto, The Aerospace Corporation, USA
Michalis Vassilakopoulos, TEI of Thessaloniki, Greece
Kokou Yetongnon, Universite de Bourgogne, France

Important Dates:

Electronic submission of full papers September 8, 2003
Notification of paper acceptance October 27, 2003
Camera-ready copy of accepted paper due November 10, 2003