First Tourism Conference for Jbeil District

From April 7 till April 9

Lebanese American University - Byblos Campus - Chagoury Medical School Auditorium

Thursday, April 7
LAU Byblos Campus - Chagoury Medical School Auditorium
Time Activity
9:30-10:00 Registration

Opening Session


Conference Presentation - Journalist Roula Mouawad
President of LAU - Dr. Michel Mouawad
Minister of Environment - Dr. Nasser Yassine
Minister of Culture - Judge Mohammad Mortada
Minister of Information - Eng. Ziad Makari
CEO of NUH Foundation - Governor Nicolas Saba
Documentary about Jbeil - Télé Liban
President of the Roman Road – Byblos Association (Via Appia) - Lawyer Raphaël Sfeir
Minister of Tourism - Eng. Walid Nassar

11:00-11:30 Coffee Break
Session 1:

Presentation of the Conference Schedule - Mr. Imad Farhat
Intervention about Adonis Valley – Director General of Antiquities - Eng. Sarkis Khoury
Tourisme Pédestre - Mr. Bertrand Gasiglia
Tourism Administrative Decentralization - Eng. Rania Abdul Samad/MoT
Hotels Sector - Eng. Najwa Chlala El Khoury
Lebanese University – Faculty of Tourism - Dr. Jad Abou Arraj
Tourist Guide Syndicate – Lebanon - Head of the syndicate: Mrs. Elissar Baalbaky
Syndicate of Owners of Restaurants - Head of the syndicate: Mr. Tony El Ramy
Association of Travel and Tourist Agents in Lebanon - Head of the syndicate: Mr. Jean Abboud

13:30-14:30 Lunch Break 
Session 2:

14:30 - 15:30: Discussion panel (1):

The Role of the Municipalities Union – Head of the Union - Mr. Fadi Martinos
Bkassine – Case Study - Mr. Antoine Naim
Byblos International Festival - Dr. Ilham Kallab
Responsible Tourism Approach – USEIL - Mr. Pascal Abdallah
Union of Sustainable and Ecotourism Institution in Lebanon

15:30-16:30: Discussion Panel (2):

*Lebanon Membership in the EPA - Prof. Rachid Chamoun
*Byblos in Focus – Risk Preparedness Planning and Disaster Risk Reduction
* LAU - Center for the Preservation and Protection of Cultural Heritage (CPCH)
Interactive Map – GIS & QR code - Mrs. Tania Abou Merhi – Mr. Georgio Nasrallah
Classic Lebanon - Eng. Karl Abi Karam

Friday, April 8
​LAU Byblos Campus - Chagoury Medical School Auditorium
Time Activity
Session 3:
Discussion Panel (3):

Jbeil Maritime Reserve – Municipality President - Mr. Wissam Zaarour
Jaj cedars Reserve - Mr. Imad Farhat
Bentael Nature Reserve - Mr. Raymond Khoury
Ehmej Cedars – President of Municipality - Dr. Maha Nehmé
Jabal Moussa - Mr. Pierre Doumit
Akoura Landmark - Mr. Alaa ElHachem
Lebanon Mountain Trail Association (LMTA) - Mr. Omar Sakr
Religious Tourism with the Ambassador of Italy to Lebanon Mrs. Nicoletta Bombardiere - Mrs. Rola Ajouz Sidani - Dr. Nour Farra

11:00-11:30 Coffee Break

Session 4:

11:30 – 12:30: Discussion Panel (4):

Byblos Marina Project - Eng. Bechara Mouwanes
Blat Jbeil Project – (Fairuz Road) – President of the Municipality - Mr. Abdo Outayek
Via Appia Local Development Project - Lawyer Raphaël Sfeir
Tejwal project – Amchit - Dr. Paul Zgheib

12:30 - 13:30: Dicussion Panel (5):

Wine Route – Ghalboun President of Municipality - Eng. Elie Gebrael
Fair Trade Lebanon - Lawyer Samir Abdul Malak
Agro Tourism – Adonis Valley - Mr. Fadi Daou
NoGarlicNoOnions - Mr. Anthony Rhayel
Nature - Dr. Mark Beiruty

13:30-14:30 Lunch Break
Session 5:

14:30 – 15:30: Discussion Panel (6):

MACAM Museum - Mrs. Diala Nammour
Fossils – Hakel - Mr. Pierre Abi Saad
Distinguished Archeological Landmarks in Jbeil District - Dr. Zeina Haddad
Institute of Management and Services - IMS - Arch. Juliana Najem Sfeir
UNDP/LDN Project - Mrs. Lara Kallas

15:30 – 16:30: Discussion Panel (7):

Wellness Tourism - Mrs. Alice Eddé
Mountains Resorts - Mrs. Nour Saab
Rural Lodging Guesthouses - Mr. Philip Germanos
Ecole de Mer - Mrs. Geraldine Ghostine
Sports Tourism - Mrs. Ray Bassil

Saturday, April 9
​LAU Byblos Campus - Chagoury Medical School Auditorium

Time Activity
Session 6:

Meeting of the follow-up committees to issue the recommendations

  Coffee Break
Closure Session Press Conference Announcing the organization of a second session of the conference in September 2022

Photo Gallery: Mr. Bassam Lahoud